TradeStation adds support for CME and Bakkt bitcoin (BTC) options

TradeStation adds support for CME bitcoin futures and Bakkt bitcoin options

TradeStation, an online broker-dealer, and futures commission merchant, today announced it now offers its futures clients the ability to trade options on Bitcoin futures contracts (BTC) from CME Group (CME) and Bakkt Bitcoin (USD) futures options on the Intercontinental Exchange, Inc. (ICE).

By supporting the trading of these new derivative products, TradeStation clients have another way to participate in Bitcoin price fluctuations through an established futures commission merchant.

CME’s options product follows the maturation and success of its Bitcoin futures contract introduced in December 2017, and is offered in response to growing customer demand for additional regulated Bitcoin derivative products. The Bakkt Bitcoin (USD) futures contracts began trading on the ICE in September 2019, giving traders another way to speculate on the price of Bitcoin.

“We have been a long-time supporter of crypto and are excited to be a part of this new chapter in cryptocurrency-based trading. Back in 2017, TradeStation was one of the first online brokers to add support for real-time market data for Bitcoin indices sourced by Cboe Global Markets and CME Group, and later to offer support for market data and order execution when CME and Cboe Futures launched their respective Bitcoin futures contracts. Now, two years later, we’re still here to support the CME’s products, and the new ICE Bakkt offerings.”
– John Bartleman, President of TradeStation Group, Inc.

TradeStation clients can now trade options on Bitcoin futures through TradeStation’s FuturesPlus platform.  FuturesPlus provides cutting-edge visualization and analysis tools coupled with TradeStation’s simplified pricing, educational offerings, and committed customer service.

Last year, TradeStation went live with its own TradeStation Crypto spot offering. And earlier last week TradeStation Crypto announced that residents of Illinois, Rhode Island, Washington, and Wisconsin could now apply for an account; adding to a growing list of approved States.